Australian-registered businesses looking to export can take advantage of free trade agreements.

Free trade agreements reduce or eliminate tariffs on exports and simplify business processes between trading nations.

Australia has 10 Free Trade Agreements in force with China, Japan, South Korea, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand, US, Chile, the Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) and Malaysia.

Different tariffs apply to different goods and services. Customs brokers and lawyers can advise exporters on tariff classification, the rules of origin and licensing intellectual property.

APEC Business Travel Card

Australian business-owners can save on time and red-tape from a travel card designed to make business travel easier and faster to Asia-Pacific countries.

The APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC) gives holders pre-cleared, multi-entry access to participating countries without the need for multiple visas or entry permits.  On arriving at major airports, card holders also benefit from swifter immigration processing through special APEC lanes. The card is valid for 5 years.

First launched the card in 1997, there are now 21 countries participating in the scheme offering reciprocal immigration arrangements. Participating countries are:


Brunei Darussalam


Chinese Taipei


Hong Kong (SAR China)






New Zealand

Papua New Guinea


The Philippines

The Russian Federation




As transitional members, Canada and the USA offer fast track immigration at major airports though visas are still required.

The uptake of the credit card size APEC Business Travel Card has been on consistent upward curve. In March 2008, there were more than 34,000 active cards, with Australia representing 40% of the number of cards issued. By 2015 the number of active card users grew to over 190,000.